Ojerinde Elected President of IAEA

Ojerinde Elected President of IAEA

Professor ‘Dibu Ojerinde, the Registrar and Chief Executive of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board has been elected the President of the International Association for Educational Assessment (IAEA); the world body for examination  and associated organizations.


Professor Ojerinde took over from Dr. Yoav of the Israeli examination body and he is currently presiding over the meeting of the Executive Committee holding in Paris, France. The Registrar is to hold office for two years.


In his acceptance speech, Professor Ojerinde promised to carry on with the good work of his predecessors especially in the area of global cooperation and collaboration amongst examination and associated bodies. The new President also promised to pursue greater collaboration with UNESCO in the area of sponsorship of assessment and evaluation programmes designed to enhance higher standard in Africa and all developing nations of the world.


The Executive Committee under the leadership of Professor Ojerinde has approved that the advanced programme on evaluation and assessment under the sponsorship of IAEA/UNESCO be held during the year at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria and it will be attended by participants from different countries. He assured the members of the Executive Committee that Universities in Nigeria have capacity to handle such and many other programmes.


The Registrar of JAMB will preside over the annual conference of the world association in August 2010 in Bangkok, Thailand where far reaching decisions affecting the examination industry all over the world but with emphasis on Africa, Asia and the Caribbean will be taken. He is equally to preside over the Conference holding in Manila, Philippines in 2011. Professor Ojerinde is also the Vice President of the Association for Educational Assessment in Africa and will be hosting the regional body in Abuja in October 2010 during the body’s annual Conference.


All public examination and related bodies in Nigeria are primary members of the association. These include JAMB, WAEC, NECO, NABTEB, NTI and NERDC. Affiliate members include ser
vice providers such as Data Sciences Nigeria Limited, Sidmach Technologies Limited, Iweb Solutions and Fleet Technologies Limited. There are also many Nigerian individual members who have presented highly rated academic papers at the IAEA Conferences. Professor Olu Aina is a past President of the IAEA while serving as the Registrar of NABTEB.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here