Jonathan Challenges New Permanent Secretaries

The Acting President, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, has charged the newly sworn-in Federal Permanent Secretaries to live above board and uphold zero tolerance to corruption, which is the guiding principle of the administration.


He spoke while swearing-in the permanent secretaries in the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.


Dr. Jonathan admonished that as accounting officers of Ministries, Departments and Agencies of Government, the new Permanent Secretaries should bring their experiences to bear in all aspects of duties and accept responsibilities always.


While advising that all necessary action must be taken to ensure good working relations with ministries that have more than one Minister and avoid being agents of division and rancour, Dr. Jonathan  charged them to give their Ministers the required cooperation and support to ensure smooth and effective running of Government.


He said, “I have no doubt therefore about your competence and readiness to satisfactorily hold the office. It is a privilege for you to be called to service at this time as we go into the crucial last lap of this Administration. You are expected to bring your experiences to bear in all aspects of your duties and prepare to accept responsibilities always.”


Acting President Jonathan congratulated the newly sworn-in permanent secretaries who scaled through what he called a rigorous process of selection aimed at ensuring that only capable and qualified persons emerged.


The new Permanent Secretaries are Umar Faruk Baba; Sheik Gone Musa; Awosika Ajorisedere Josephine; Mohammed Sani Lawal and Wiloughby Stephen Olukorede. Others include Odusote Ibukun Abimnola; Mohammed Sambo; Aliyu Salihu Gusau; Daudu Ibrahim Jalo; Olorunfemi Biodum Nathaniel and Mahe Ibrahim Gaya.


Also sworn-in were Ozodinobi Anthony Zikora; Ene-Ita Nkese; Bamidele Fatima Binta; Bonat Charles; Kigbu Dausa and Uhomiobhi Martin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here