National Spokespersons’ Awards Committee Receives 224 Entries

National Spokespersons Awards 2024
National Spokespersons Awards 2024

National Spokespersons’ Awards Committee Receives 224 Entries


The Planning Committee of the National Spokespersons’ Awards (NSAwards) has announced the closure of nominations with an unprecedented 224 entries.

The National Spokespersons Awards is the highest honours celebrating outstanding spokespersons in corporate communications, public affairs, politics, media, advocacy and other domains in Nigeria who have demonstrated outstanding eloquence, integrity, and effectiveness in their roles as spokespeople.

Chairman of the Committee, Mr Segun Mcmedal, said the entries which started on the 1st of February and closed on the 29th of February, 2024 received 224 entries surpassing last year’s 124 entries with over 70% increase.

He said the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), in partnership with the award-winning Public Relations outfit, Image Merchants Promotion Ltd (IMPR), would host the award during the forthcoming National Spokespersons’ Summit holding in Abuja this month.

Mcmedal said: “The upcoming ceremony is a successor to the annual Spokespersons’ Communication Awards (SCA), hosted by Spokesperson’s Digest.

“The SCA was organised by IMPR – publishers of PRNigeria, Economic Confidential and Spokespersons’ Digest – for three consecutive years – 2021-2023 – and it was the most credible platform for honouring the best performing individuals and organisations in strategic communication, crisis communication, media engagement and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) across the country.

“Just like its predecessor, the NSA wards with the endorsement of NIPR will recognise and honour individuals behind some of the most outstanding communication campaigns and initiatives in the fields of Public Relations, and Integrated Marketing Communication industry in the last one year.”

According to the Chairman of the award committee, the categories with the highest nominations include that of Best Spokerpersons in Political Communication, Crisis Management, Public Sector (Federal), Public Sector (State), Corporate Communication, Spokerperson of the Year and Security Spokesperson of the Year.

Other award categories with reasonable entries include Military Spokerperson of the Year, Best Spokesperson in Environmental Sustainability and also Best Spokerpersons in Judiciary, Legislature and Executive.

Others are Best Spokerpersons in Diplomatic/Multinational Organisations, Excellence in Regulatory Compliance and Corporate Governance.

The Chairman also confirmed that nominations were received from the private sector, individuals and public institutions, adding that the nominations were spread from across the country’s six geopolitical zones.

“Our jury will sit and select the finalists that will participate in the main awards.

“We must thank the state chapters of the NIPR for the massive publicity they gave to the nomination processes,” he said.

By PRNigeria