BDAN Director Seeks Policy Implementation To Improve Sector Growth

BDAN Director Seeks Policy Implementation To Improve Sector Growth

In order to support the growth of the banking industry, the Bank Directors Association of Nigeria (BDAN), headed by Mustafa Chike-Obi, the Chairman of the Board of Directors, has called for collaborative policies.

The association made the call during an advocacy visit to the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions, Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru, on Wednesday.

The visit aligned with BDAN’s Advocacy Agenda and underscored the association’s commitment to fostering collaboration with stakeholders in the banking industry, including the legislative arm responsible for law-making and oversight functions.

BDAN, in a statement signed by its Chief Executive, Adebukola Orenuga, said the association recognised the pivotal role of regulatory bodies and legislative institutions in shaping the banking landscape and that BDAN’s advocacy efforts aimed to ensure sustainable legal framework and regulatory environment that promotes innovation, stability and growth within the sector.

“During the advocacy visit, discussions revolved around policy review and the importance of collaboration between the Banking industry, the legislature and regulatory bodies, thereby emphasising the need for dialogue, transparency, and mutual understanding to address emerging challenges and opportunities.

Senator Abiru and other members of the committee welcomed BDAN’s initiative to engage with the committee, acknowledging the significance of constructive dialogue between policymakers and industry stakeholders.

“As BDAN continues its advocacy efforts, the Association reaffirms its commitment to working closely with regulatory bodies, legislative institutions, and all stakeholders in the Banking industry to promote a robust and resilient financial ecosystem that serves the best interests of all Nigerians, the statement read.

The Secate Committe Members Committee who attended the meeting include Vice Chairman, Usman Lawal Adamu, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, Osita Izunaso, Hussaini Babangida Uba, Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura and Mohammed Tahir Mongono. Others were Khabeeb Mustapha, Binos Yaroe, Titus Zam, Tony Nwoye, and Dandutse Muntari Mohammed.