FG Inaugurates Panel on Education

The Federal Government has expressed determination to implement the recommendations of the Presidential Task Team on Education in the bid to reposition the Sector. To this ends, a high level Implementation Committee has been inaugurated to implement the report which has received the blessing of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.

Performing the Inauguration Ceremony, the Minister of Education and Chairman of the Implementation Committee, Prof. Ruqayyatu Ahmed Rufa’i stated that some of the approved recommendations for implementation include production of a compendium for all the Education Sector Laws;

reverting to the original intention of 6-3-3-4 system and to adjust its structure to include one year early childhood Education for 5 year olds (1-6-3-3-4); as well as up-date the National Policy on Education to include all new sub-sectoral policies such as Gender, ECE, ICT, HIV & AIDS etc.

Others are to restructure the functions of the Federal Ministry of Education and its Departments with specific attention to ensuring that professionals head Departments and Parastatals; expand the mandate of Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) to accommodate Secondary Education including the Unity Colleges; and to take necessary steps to restore Ethics and Values in Education at all levels among others.

The Minister of State for Education, Chief (Barr.) Ezenwo Nyesom Wike who is Vice Chairman of the Implementation Committee acknowledged the great challenges ahead but said that the opportunity provided by Mr President to reposition the Education Sector must not be allowed to fail.

According to him, members of the Committee were carefully selected based on track records of competence hence the need to justify the confidence reposed in them.

Chairman of House Committee on Education, Farouk Lawan who is a member of the Committee commended the President for the will power demonstrated so far towards the transformation of the Education sector.

Lawan noted that over the years the problem in the Education Sector was compounded not because there were no ideas of how to handle issues, but lack of political will to implement available recommendations gathering dust on the shelves.

Prof Pai Obanya who chaired the Presidential Task Team on Education has been appointed Technical Adviser to the Implementation Committee while membership includes Chief Executives of Parastatals and Directors in the Ministry, National Assembly and relevant Government Departments.

The full list of membership is as follow;

Prof. (Mrs) Ruqayyatu A. Rufa’i, OON    –      HME                              – Chairman
Chief (Barr.) Ezenwo Nyesom Wike   –           HMSE                           – Vice Chairman
Prof. Nicholas Damachi          –           PSE                                        – Member
Prof. PAI Obanya         –           Technical Adviser                              – Member
Director, FME- Federal Inspectorate Service                                      – Member
Director, FME – Policy Planning Management & Research                     – Member
Director, FME- Basic & Secondary Education                                      – Member
Director, FME Human Resources
Director, Legal, FME                                                                        – Member
Executive Secretary, Universal Basic Educ. Commission                     – Member
Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission                       – Member
Executive Secretary, Nat. Comm.for Colleges of Education                 – Member
Executive Secretary, Nat. Board for Technical Education                     – Member
Executive Secretary, Tertiary Education Trust Fund                            – Member
Executive Secretary, Nig. Educ. Research & Devt Council                    – Member
Registrar, Joint Admissions & Matriculations Board                              – Member
Head, National Office, WAEC, Lagos                                                   – Member
Registrar, National Examination Council                                             – Member
Registrar, Teachers’ Registration Council                                           – Member
Director, National Teachers’ Institute                                                 – Member
Chairman, Forum of Commissioner of Education                                 – Member     
Chairman, Forum of SUBEB Chairmen                                              –  Member
Rep of Chairmen of Principals of Federal Unity Colleges                      – Member
Rep. of Secretary Government of the Federation                               –  Member
Rep. of the Head of the Civil Service  the Federation                         –  Member
Rep. of the Honourable Minister of Finance                                       – Member
Rep of the National Planning Commission                                         – Member
Rep of Senate Committee on Education                                            – Member
Rep of the House Committee on Education                                        – Member
Dr. Jamila Shu’ara   Director, Tertiary Education                               -Member/Secretary


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here