Jonathan Names New Chiefs for Armed Forces, Police and SSS

President Jonathan
President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan of Nigeria has finally replaced heads of the Nigerian Armed Forces and the Police with the appointment of new bosses for the security services.


The new service chiefs are: Air Marshal O.O Peterin, Chief of Defence Staff; Major General O. A. Ihejirika, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral O.S Ibrahim, Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshall M.D Umar, Chief of Air Staff. While Mr. Ita Ekpeyong  is appointed new director general of the State Security Services (SSS), Alhaji Hafiz A. Ringim is the Acting Inspector General of Police.

The appointments of the new service chiefs, according to statement obtained by the Economic Confidential, take immediate effect but are however subject to confirmation of the National Assembly, in line with the provision of the Armed Forces Act, Section 18, Cap A20, Laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The statement further stated that the President thanked the out-going Chiefs whose tenure expired in August for their loyalty and deedication to service. He specially commended them for defending the Nigerian constitution at all times and for successful command of the Armed Forces during their tenure.

The president  also thanked the out-going Inspector General of Police Ogbonnay Onovo and out going DG SSS Mr AA Gadzama for  their dedication to service of the fatherland and wished them well in their future endeavours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here